We want to start this post by thanking everyone who has visited our site and enjoyed our posts.
We’re sorry we have been absent for a couple of weeks, our lives have taken us on a grand adventure. We originally started this site as a way to encapsulate all that we love about our native city within a year, because as we grew the city around us changed and little bits of its culture has been pushed by the way side. Progress is a wonderful thing but it should never sacrifice your identity.
Our hopes are to return to the site and continue our posts, but in the meantime we will keep everyone up to date on our new adventures so check back often to see our progress.
We found another of the few remaining working fish spouts in the quarter. The detail on this unique yet practical feature is superb, this spout seems to have seen a full restoration and looks as if it was added yesterday.
One of the quieter corners within the French Quarter. A small alley meets a main street just outside the imposing marble court house. Exchange place once continued through where the court stands today.
Tradition NOLA homes are built on piers a few feet of the ground to keep the home cool with cross ventilation. The original New Orleanians decided instead of exposing the individual piers that support the home they bricked the homes across the front and added the decorative iron vents to keep the breathability of the crawlspace. This shot of one of the many intricately detailed iron vents shows just how important style was to function.
In the 1800’s before the building at 417 Royal in the French Quarter was a famous restaurant, it was home to the Bank of Louisiana. The building was built around 1790 as a private residence and a bank. The unique iron railings adorning the building still show the Banque de la Louisiane’s decorative scrolled initials. This building and its details are one of the many treasures that date to NOLA’s colonial period.
Most street names in the French Quarter date back to the city’s origins, some briefly changed during the Spanish rule of New Orleans. Conti was one of the streets never renamed. The original Rue Conti, was named in honor of the Prince de Conti, a member of the Bourbon Royal family, and held true its link to France the founding nation of NOLA.
During the 1800s New Orleans was facing its own form of revolution. NOLA was left to her own devices and was given just a small group of soldiers for protection. But the resilient city that we are we banded together to fight for our city and culture.
Sitting just outside the Peristyle’s colonnade you can find historic light posts topped with classic frosted ball lanterns. But while many focus on the lights and leaving the beautiful intricately carved feet to go unnoticed.